Everyday – Morning Skincare Routine

My morning skincare routine is pretty basic. I already take forever to get ready in the morning, so I need something quick so that I can move on to the meticulous routine of makeup. As well, I’m not much of a skincare junkie, as I like makeup more. Also, my skin is very sensitive, leaning on the dry side. In my teens, I had horrible acne and ridiculously oily skin. I thankfully do not have much breakouts now, just some leftover scarring, and my skin’s oiliness has calmed down, so much so that in the winter time, my skin is quite dry and dehydrated. But that’s the point of creams and serums, right?

First step: Kiehl’s Calendula Toner (125 mL – $30 CAD) – This is my third bottle of this toner. I like it, it absorbs quickly, and actually does not leave my skin feeling tight or dry as it is alcohol free.

Second step: Ole Henriksen Fresh Start Eye Creme (30 mL – $48 CAD) – This is a pretty new purchase for me. So far I like it, but it’s not ‘holy grail’. I actually don’t have a ‘holy grail’ eye cream, I tend to try a new brand every time I finish a tub. I’m in my early 20s so no wrinkles yet. I use eye cream as prevention and to prevent dryness and discolouration. Have I noticed a huge improvement with my eye area with this cream? I don’t think so, as there was really nothing to improve in the first place. I guess we’ll see in the future.

Thirds step: Aveeno Positively Radiant SPF 15 Moisturizer (120 mL – ~$10-15) – I actually received this from a Glossybox a long time ago, can’t remember which. I’ve been using this day moisturizer for a while now, and I have 1/3 of it left. I like it, it moisturizes well and has SPF, so that’s good. The strange thing about this moisturizer is that there are tiny, minute, shimmers. You can’t even tell it’s on your face really, I only noticed the small shimmers after looking at my hands after massaging on my face. But that is the purpose of their Positively Radiant line I believe, that it’s supposed to smooth out skin and make it glow. It doesn’t bother me too much, so I’m okay with it.

Fourth step: Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection SPF 50+ (100 mL – $50) – This is my favourite sunscreen I’ve tried so far. I’ve recently been on a sunscreen kick, as before I was quite apathetic with sunscreen but now, I can’t leave the house without it. This is non greasy and quickly absorbs into the skin, so I only wait about a minute before applying foundation and such. There is a slight scent, as with Shiseido products, but I honestly can’t even smell it anymore, and once it’s applied, the scent goes away anyways.

What’s your skincare routine consist of?

2 thoughts on “Everyday – Morning Skincare Routine

  1. Pingback: Everyday – Nighttime Skincare Routine | Lipstick Luxe

  2. Pingback: Glossybox – Dec ’12 | Lipstick Luxe

Leave a Reply

